top of page
  • Writer's pictureY.M. Dugas

A Living Sacrifice

“For Thou, LORD, hast made me glad through Thy work: I will triumph in the works of Thy hands.” (Psalms 92:4)


Psalms 92 was written anonymously. The author is unknow. It’s Jewish opinion that it was written by Adam before he sinned. But most scholars agree with the Arabic version that it was written by David because of the mention of instruments and enemies which Adam would not have had.


What are the works of the Lord? In the Old Testament people looked toward creation, God’s mercy in their lives and in victory over their enemies. But we of the New Covenant have a greater work to rejoice in. The work of salvation for man. Of all of God’s work, this is the greatest. This is the one work we can truly be glad in day in and day out.


God’s work of salvation is the triumph of His creation. He has reached from heaven and rescued the captives and set us free. “The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, because He hath anointed Me to preach the gospel to the poor; He hath sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised,” (Luke 4:18) This is God’s wisdom, that He did it without violating His Word. The first man sinned and handed God’s creation to His enemy. “Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned:” (Romans 5:12) And a second man came and snatched us out of the enemy’s hand. “But not as the offence, so also is the free gift. For if through the offence of one many be dead, much more the grace of God, and the gift by grace, which is by one man, Jesus Christ, hath abounded unto many.” (Romans 5:15) The gift of God is greater and has rescued many.


The joy because of this gift is immense in our lives. It makes the things of this world seem small in comparison. We are able to go through any trial knowing God is with us and God is for us. We can sing with David, “...The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell. Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident. One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in His temple. For in the time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion: in the secret of His tabernacle shall He hide me; He shall set me up upon a rock. And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore, will I offer in His tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD.” (Psalms 27:1-6) There is reason to sing joyfully in worship. God is with us, living in us. All that pertains to us is not out of His control. He is near. We are not abandoned.


Let’s not allow worship to be mundane and just songs, but words of allegiance and commitment to the God of our salvation. I have mentioned before how worship is the living sacrifice, we give as the priesthood of Christ. “Wherefore laying aside all malice, and all guile, and hypocrisies, and envies, and all evil speakings, As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby: If so be ye have tasted that the Lord is gracious. To whom coming, as unto a living stone, disallowed indeed of men, but chosen of God, and precious, Ye also, as lively stones, are built up a spiritual house, an holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices, acceptable to God by Jesus Christ. Wherefore also it is contained in the scripture, Behold, I lay in Sion a chief corner stone, elect, precious: and he that believeth on Him shall not be confounded. Unto you therefore which believe He is precious: but unto them which be disobedient, the stone which the builders disallowed, the same is made the head of the corner, And a stone of stumbling, and a rock of offence, even to them which stumble at the word, being disobedient: whereunto also they were appointed. But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvellous light: Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.” (1Peter 2:1-10) These verses from Peter are marvelous. We are the living stones building an altar of the sacrifice of praise to our God as His royal priesthood. And Jesus is the foundational stone on which our praise is set on. Once we get understanding of this Truth, worship will never be the same.


So yes! We rejoice in the work of the Lord. It makes us glad and even more than glad. We “will triumph in the works of thy hands.” To triumph means to shout aloud for joy. Let’s worship the Lord of Lords and King of Kings with loud shouts of joy in worship.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reborn of God

“If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:25)   “If we live in the Spirit” means if we have accepted God’s...

The Lord our Healer

“He answereth him, and saith, O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him unto Me.”...

Partakers

“According as His divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain  unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him that...

Comments


bottom of page