top of page
  • Writer's pictureY.M. Dugas

Delight in the Lord

“Delight thyself also in the LORD; and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.” (Psalms 37:4)


Only a true believer, a follower of Jesus, a child of God can have delight in the Lord. It’s being in His Presence and embraced by His holiness that the desire to live in this fallen world disappears. It’s a yearning to be with the Lord. It’s a tiny and miniscule taste of heaven. Anymore and our earthly body would surely die. It’s a need more than life that we seek as often as we can.


There is nothing routine about our time with the Lord. It is not a duty that must be plugged in sometime in our busy schedule, a task to check off as completed. It’s not a time of service that we offer because we should. We are not compelled by any requirement of religion to come before Him.


King Solomon began his reign delighting in the Lord. He prayed a humble prayer and asked for wisdom instead of riches or fame. God granted him wisdom more than any man had received. But he married Pharoah’s daughter and sacrificed in the high places. (1 Kings 3) He got carried away with the things of this world delighting himself with every pleasure this world had to offer. (Ecclesiastes 2:1-11) He had many wives who turned his heart away from God. (1Kings 11:1-3) In the end Solomon concluded about the things of this world, “Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity.” (Ecclesiastes 1:2) The word vanity means uselessness. We can learn from Solomon that pursuing the things of this world is uselessness. Yet our choices most times is the pursuit of things that gratify the flesh instead of the spirit.


David was one who delighted himself in the Lord. He committed grave sins, but he was repentant. His heart always pursued a relationship with God. At his highest point, his delight was the Lord. “And it was so, that when they that bare the ark of the LORD had gone six paces, he sacrificed oxen and fatlings. And David danced before the LORD with all his might; and David was girded with a linen ephod. So David and all the house of Israel brought up the ark of the LORD with shouting, and with the sound of the trumpet.” (2Samuel 6:13-15) And in his lowest times, he sought the Lord’s presence. “A Psalm of David, when he fled from Absalom his son. LORD, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me. Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah. But Thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. I cried unto the LORD with my voice, and He heard me out of His holy hill. Selah. I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about. Arise, O LORD; save me, O my God: for Thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; Thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly. Salvation belongeth unto the LORD: Thy blessing is upon Thy people. Selah.” (Psalms 3:1-8) And because David’s heart sought the Lord in every situation, God chooses David for the throne instead of Saul. These are the words the prophet Samuel tells Saul: “But now thy kingdom shall not continue: the LORD hath sought Him a man after His own heart, and the LORD hath commanded him to be captain over His people, because thou hast not kept that which the LORD commanded thee.” (1Samuel 13:14)


David’s fellowship with the Lord is demonstrated in his love for the Lord and His Word. “The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple. The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes. The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward. Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults. Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression. Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in Thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.” (Psalms 19:7-14) Our delight in the Lord will have the same love for the Lord and His Word.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Gospel

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” (Galatians...

Reborn of God

“If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:25)   “If we live in the Spirit” means if we have accepted God’s...

The Lord our Healer

“He answereth him, and saith, O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him unto Me.”...

Comentarios


bottom of page