top of page
  • Writer's pictureY.M. Dugas

Jesus, All I Need

“Oh that I were as in months past, as in the days when God preserved me;” (Job 29:2)


This was Job’s lament. He wanted his former life back, when life was good, when he was blessed, and he was a blessing. He had lost it all, his children, his possessions, his position in the community, his marriage and his health. We all have carved a life for ourselves. We live the way we want to live. We have our homes the way we want them. We have the things we want and apart from life’s little bumps in the road, we’re content with the ways things are.


Have you ever been in a position such as Job, where your life is turned upside down and the life you had is no longer? Such a position is lamentable. This happened to me a year and a half ago. I was struck with Guillain–Barré syndrome or an anomaly of it since it was one-sided. But the symptoms were the same. I could not walk nor was I able to do any of the things I regularly do. And yes, I lamented my life. I wanted my life back. I wanted to be able to walk and do the things I like to do, garden, take care of my house and my husband. But there I was, unable to do anything for myself, depended on someone else. I think of my neighbor who had a couple of strokes and is wheelchair bound. Her whole life is changed. She no longer can garden, take care of herself or her husband. She is in a care facility, unable to go home. Her husband is alone. Their nice home literally abandoned. These incidents make one appreciative of the daily grind of life.


Then there are those, who are healthy, have healthy families, nice homes, good jobs and are dissatisfied with their lives. They complain of the littlest things that are bothersome to them. Instead of counting their blessings they are looking beyond to be someone and have something that they don’t have. What causes such dissatisfaction with one’s life? They are not thankful for what God has blessed them with.


Ezekiel describes Jerusalem in such a state. He had blessed her and exalted her among the nations, but they placed their wants and desires above God’s Will for them. This was idolatry and spiritual adultery. (Ezekiel 16) “Thou hast played the whore also with the Assyrians, because thou wast unsatiable; yea, thou hast played the harlot with them, and yet couldest not be satisfied.” (Ezekiel 16:28) The natural man is never satisfied. This was the state of Jerusalem. And this is how it is with man. Their yearning is not for the Lord but for themselves. They are consumed with what they want and are never satisfied. They fail to give thanks and appreciate the blessings.


But what did Jesus say to the Samaritan woman? “Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again: But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.” (John 4:13-14) Here is the secret of satisfaction. It’s to drink of the water that Jesus has. It’s life eternal and the gift of the Holy Spirit. It’s seeking God, His Presence, His Will and Purpose, not what fills our gut or flesh. “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Matthew 6:33)


Jesus gives us an alternative to covetousness. It is Him. What more could we want if we have Jesus? “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” (Hebrews 13:5) If we have Jesus, we don’t need anything else. He is all we need. He is all we could ever want.


No matter how wrong things can go, we have Jesus. If we could instead of lamenting our lives turn our eyes to Jesus, He will change our perspective. He will change our lament to peace and joy. The difficulties will take a back seat to being in His Presence.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Gospel

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” (Galatians...

Reborn of God

“If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:25)   “If we live in the Spirit” means if we have accepted God’s...

The Lord our Healer

“He answereth him, and saith, O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him unto Me.”...

Comments


bottom of page