top of page
  • Writer's pictureY.M. Dugas

My God

“For thy Maker is thine husband; the LORD of hosts is His name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall He be called.” (Isaiah 54:5)


This is a prophesy Isaiah gave of Israel. It’s about the New Covenant that was coming and is now here for Israel and for us. He starts the chapter calling Israel desolate and barren, but prophesies that she will not be barren but fertile and fruitful. And although she is abandoned for a little while, He will fulfill His promises to her. Isaiah hints at the Thousand Year Reign of Christ when God will fulfill all His promises to Israel.


Notice the phrases that Isaiah uses; thy Maker, thine husband and thy Redeemer. Here begs a question. Is He your Maker, your husband and your Redeemer? It’s a little tell. The Lord is ours. Every title of the Lord demonstrates His Love and work for us. When I approach the Lord and call Him my Lord, sometimes I think it may be disrespectful to embrace Him as mine, to think that He thought of me personally in every miraculous work. Do you think God is so great that He only thinks in big ideas, like the world situation, the church, Israel? Yes, God is very much aware of the world, the church and Israel. But Scripture shows us that He is very much aware and involved in every personal life.


The Lord cares for us individually. David expressed it beautifully in his psalm. “LORD, You have examined me and You know me. You know everything I do; from far away You understand all my thoughts. You see me, whether I am working or resting; You know all my actions. Even before I speak, you already know what I will say. You are all around me on every side; You protect me with Your power. Your knowledge of me is too deep; it is beyond my understanding.” (Psalms 139:1-6) David had revelation of God’s interest in his life, but although he knew it, it was just too much for him to understand. God knows all our comings and goings, the words we will speak before we speak them and even our thoughts. He not only knows about us, but is involved in our lives. This world has made our eyes and ears of understanding deaf and blind. Pray that the Lord would open up your eyes and ears of understanding to hear and to see the Lord working in your life every moment. Every moment, the Holy Spirit is whispering God’s Will, turn right, turn left. Most times we’re only listening to the flesh and do what feels good to us. “If you wander off the road to the right or the left, you will hear His voice behind you saying, "Here is the road. Follow it." (Isaiah 30:21)


In our troubles here on earth, we may feel isolated and alone, thinking no one cares or even knows the things I am going through. But the Lord is near and very much aware. He cares. “How precious also are Thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with Thee.” (Psalms 139:17-18) Most times the hardships we are going through are of our making, a wrong choice we made. And we will have to suffer the consequences of choosing the flesh over the spirit. The Lord is willing and able to rescue us from ourselves, but only if we have given Him our lives. Many times, we say yes, I have given Jesus my life, but then go and do our own thing. We give the Lord lip service, but our hearts still follow the flesh. God is so gracious; He allows us to choose. And that is one of the things I fear the most, that the Lord would allow me to do my own thing. My flesh will only lead me to destruction.


God knows our need, spiritually, and naturally, in our souls (mind, will, emotions) and in our body. He cares for us and will provide what we need. He has the solution, but we are deaf and blind. “This is why I tell you: do not be worried about the food and drink you need in order to stay alive, or about clothes for your body. After all, isn't life worth more than food? And isn't the body worth more than clothes? Look at the birds: they do not plant seeds, gather a harvest and put it in barns; yet your Father in heaven takes care of them! Aren't you worth much more than birds?” (Matthew 6:25-26) We are His children. He is better than any earthly father.


We can say, my God, my Lord and my Redeemer. You are mine. And I am Yours. I give You my life to reign. Open my eyes and ears of understanding so I can see You in my life and hear Your direction.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lord our Healer

“He answereth him, and saith, O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him unto Me.”...

Partakers

“According as His divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain  unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him that...

No Fear

“He shall not be afraid of evil tidings: his heart is fixed, trusting in the LORD.” (Psalms 112:7)   The author of Psalms 112 is unknown,...

Comentarios


bottom of page