top of page
  • Writer's pictureY.M. Dugas

Seek God

“The Sovereign LORD says, "I will once again let the Israelites ask me for help, and I will let them increase in numbers like a flock of sheep.” (Ezekiel 36:37)


After being far from the Lord throughout their generations, the Lord will again let the Israelites draw near. But it’s not for their sake, but for the holy Name of the Lord. “"Now then, give the Israelites the message that I, the Sovereign LORD, have for them: What I am going to do is not for the sake of you Israelites, but for the sake of My holy name, which you have disgraced in every country where you have gone.” (Ezekiel 36:22)


Some things to point out in Ezekiel 36:27 that give us insight into who God is and how He deals with us, are the words, “I will once again let the Israelites ask me…” Once again indicates that God allowed them times before to ask for help. “Once again…” points to God’s mercy and patience with them and with us today. Even those who are far from Him, if they will turn to Him, once again, He will hear and He will help. This is what He tells the nations: “If at any time I say that I am going to uproot, break down, or destroy any nation or kingdom, but then that nation turns from its evil, I will not do what I said I would. On the other hand, if I say that I am going to plant or build up any nation or kingdom, but then that nation disobeys me and does evil, I will not do what I said I would.” (Jeremiah 18:7-10) He deals with people in the same manner. “The Lord is not slow to do what He has promised, as some think. Instead, He is patient with you, because He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants all to turn away from their sins.” (2Peter 3:9)


It's God’s mercy. It’s His Love toward our misery. “He saved us. It was not because of any good deeds that we ourselves had done, but because of His own mercy that He saved us, through the Holy Spirit, who gives us new birth and new life by washing us.” (Titus 3:5) It never ceases to amaze me how patient and how Good God is toward us. From the very beginning, because He knows the past, the present and the future at once, He knows our weaknesses and that we will fail Him because we are not perfect. “He knows what we are made of; He remembers that we are dust.” (Psalms 103:14) Just because we’re superior beings on earth doesn’t make us superior in God’s eyes. He created us. When we die, we return to the earth; our bodies that is. God breathed His life into our bodies. It is by His mercy we live.


Another thing to point out in Ezekiel 36:37 is the word “let.” God is the One who decides if we come to Him or not. I hate to think that I am only thinking I am praying when in reality God is not receiving my prayers. That thought is scary. But how can we be sure God is even listening to us? We need to ask ourselves if we are seeking Him. Many just “pray” when they need something from God and ignore Him other times. My take on that is that at least they believe that God is the source of help. They know Who to go to. But I don’t think in the natural you would go up to a stranger and ask him to give you something for which you would only ask your father. No! You have a relationship with your father. You know your natural father loves you and would give you certain things. “You will seek me, and you will find Me because you will seek Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13) The most important thing in our relationship with God is to seek Him, not for what He can do for you. "So do not start worrying: 'Where will my food come from? or my drink? or my clothes?' (These are the things the pagans are always concerned about.) Your Father in heaven knows that you need all these things. Instead, be concerned above everything else with the Kingdom of God and with what He requires of you, and He will provide you with all these other things.” (Matthew 6:31-33)


In seeking God and building a relationship with Him, you will find that you don’t have to desperately ask Him for every little thing. He freely gives us so much because He loves us. He wants us more focused on a relationship with Him than worrying about surviving. He’ll take care of that.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Gospel

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” (Galatians...

Reborn of God

“If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:25)   “If we live in the Spirit” means if we have accepted God’s...

The Lord our Healer

“He answereth him, and saith, O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him unto Me.”...

Commentaires


bottom of page